Who are the CRBs600x400The term ‘Credit Rating Bodies (CRBs)’ refers to education provider organisations that are authorised to carry out credit rating – i.e. they determine the SCQF Level and SCQF Credit Points of a learning programme so it can be recognised on the SCQF.

The current list of CRBs is as follows:

  • Universities and other higher education institutions in Scotland
  • Scotland’s colleges
  • The Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
  • The Chartered Institute of Bankers in Scotland
  • City & Guilds
  • Scottish Police College
  • The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland (ICAS)
  • The Institute of Counselling
  • Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
  • Scottish Prison Service College

This list is updated as new CRBs are approved.

Each CRB has rigorous and robust quality assurance systems for credit rating learning programmes onto the SCQF. The credit rating process involves ensuring the quality and integrity of the learning programmes, then allocating an SCQF Level to a learning programme using the level descriptors and calculating the amount of time that it will take a typical learner to achieve the programme. Learning programmes must be at least a notional 10 hours in duration, equating to 1 SCQF credit point. Other than this, learning programmes can be of any length.

CRBs credit rate their own learning programmes and some of them are also allowed to credit rate learning programmes developed by other, third party, organisations.

The SCQF Partnership provides ongoing support to CRBs and has developed a number of resources to complement the information contained in the SCQF Handbook.

If you would like more information about CRBs or credit rating, please contact a member of the SCQF Partnership Executive Team on 0845 270 7371.

Related Content