SCQF_Levels600x400The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework has 12 levels. The different levels indicate the level of difficulty of a particular qualification. The Level Descriptors outline the general outcomes of learning at SCQF levels under five broad headings:

  • knowledge and understanding (mainly subject based);
  • practice (applied knowledge and understanding);
  • generic cognitive skills (e.g. evaluation, critical analysis);
  • communication, numeracy and IT skills; and
  • autonomy, accountability and working with others.

The Descriptors allow broad comparisons to be made between qualifications and learning and allow learners, employers and the public in general to understand the range of skills and learning that should be achieved at each level.

Related Content