Skip to main content

So you’ve been in the armed forces and about to enter civilian life in Scotland. There’s a lot to think about and one of the main priorities may well be getting a job or entering further learning.

You’ll have gained some qualifications whilst being enlisted, not to mention a whole wealth of skills and experience. But what does this all mean? That’s where the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) can help...


What is the SCQF?

  • It’s Scotland’s lifelong learning Framework.
  • It covers a wide variety of qualifications from school, college, university and the workplace.
  • It clearly shows that qualifications have the same worth whether achieved through school, college, university and the workplace.


What can the SCQF do?

  • It can help you understand more clearly the qualifications landscape in Scotland.
  • It can help you plan your future learning journey.
  • It can help employers and institutions understand the qualifications you have gained.
  • It can help you understand your transferable skills.
  • It can help you progress in your learning and gain credit for what you've achieved.


Veterans' Skills and Qualifications Discovery Tool

To find out more about the skills you developed in service and how your service qualifications relate to Scottish qualifications, have a look at the Veterans’ Skills and Qualifications Discovery Tool in Skills Development Scotland’s My World of Work website.

This will help you see what skills to highlight in your CV and application forms, and tell you the broadly comparable SCQF level of qualifications taken in service.  Soon, the tool will also be able to make suggestions for potential career paths based on your skills profile, helping you to make decisions about your future career and learning.

To find out how to use this tool, have a look at our walkthrough below.


There may be qualifications that you gained whilst serving that are not listed. If you are unsure, then drop us a line on or call us on 0141 225 2922.

The SCQF diagram /Interactive Framework

In the Interactive version of the framework diagram you can 

  • See all the standard Scottish qualifications from level 1 (easiest) to level 12 (most difficult).
  • Access information on the skills and experience expected at each level so you can see what level you are working at.

There are over 11,500 qualifications on the SCQF and around 900 that recognise learning undertaken in the workplace or locations other than learning institutions. You can search our database here.


But what about the qualifications you gained in Service?

Some of the qualifications you gained while serving may be recognised on the SCQF or maybe English qualifications and therefore you may be concerned whether they will be recognised and accepted in Scotland by employers or by educational institutions.

There may be qualifications that you gained whilst serving that are not listed. If you are unsure, then drop us a line on or call us on 0141 225 2922.

Sign up for our newsletter

Receive our latest news, workshop alerts and updates to our helpful resources via email.

We are committed to preserving your privacy. Please read then accept the following privacy & cookie policy to understand how we use and protect the information that you provide to us.

Back to top