< Skip to main content

The National Progression Awards in Climate Change and Sustainability, at SCQF levels 3 and 4, have recently been developed by the SQA. These build on content included in National Qualifications in Geography and Environmental Science.

The Scottish Government Climate Change Plan sets out how our nation will move towards a low carbon economy that will help to deliver sustainable economic growth and create a greener, fairer and healthier Scotland by 2032. The Scottish education system has a crucial role in providing learners with opportunities to develop the skills, capabilities, attributes, knowledge, motivation and behaviours to live sustainable lifestyles as informed and committed global citizens. Learning for sustainability is an entitlement for all learners within Scotland's curriculum and all education practitioners are expected to reflect the principles of ‘Learning for Sustainability’ within their practice as set out in the Vision 2030 Report.

Awareness of climate change and the need for sustainable lifestyles has grown enormously over the last few years. The potential and actual impacts of climate change due to physical factors and human activity and the need to live more sustainably have become increasingly apparent.

Glasgow hosting COP 26 in 2021, where world leaders debated the human causes of climate change and strategies to minimise these causes, have brought these issues very much into public focus in Scotland. As a result, a demand for qualifications in this area has grown and the National Progression Awards in Climate Change and Sustainability were developed to help meet this requirement. These awards are designed to enable learners to learn more about the impacts of climate change and to develop the skills, knowledge, motivation and behaviours to live sustainable lifestyles.

The qualifications are accredited by SQA and credit rated for inclusion on the SCQF, providing learners and employers with the confidence that the qualifications have been developed following robust and comprehensive processes.

National Progression Award in Climate Change and Sustainability:

Award Name

SCQF level

SCQF credit points

NPA Climate Change and Sustainability



NPA Climate Change and Sustainability



For more information on the Awards, visit the SQA website.

Sign up for our newsletter

Receive our latest news, workshop alerts and updates to our helpful resources via email.

We are committed to preserving your privacy. Please read then accept the following privacy & cookie policy to understand how we use and protect the information that you provide to us.

Back to top